Happy New Year

new-year-2016-17-blog-photo

London fireworks, New Year 2016/17

Happy New Year, Hugo.

I hope that this post finds you well. You are going to turn nine in 2017, halfway to becoming a grown up in 2026. It is as shocking as it is unfair how quickly the time passes by, never to be repeated.

Although 2016 will go down as the year when a seemingly disproportionate number of famous people that I grew up watching in the 80s passed away and two major political occurrences, “Brexit” in the UK and the election of Donald Trump in the U.S., for me it will always be associated with my not having seen you for a full five calendar years (2012-2016 inclusive). That said, whenever I see the President-elect on television, it occurs that you see more of him, albeit on the television, than you do of your own father – I well remember Reagan on the television aged as about you are now. I hope in the course of these next 5 years, as you become more independent and inquisitive of your background, this absence of contact might change. For now, though, I offer you a happy New Year. I hope that it is a year filled with accomplishment and happiness for you in all that you do.

Leave a Reply

