9/11 – 15 years on

Image result for 9 11 memorial london

Hello Hugo

I visited the 9/11 Memorial Garden in London’s Grosvenor Square, close to the (soon -to-be relocated – as announced in the year of your birth) American Embassy, late afternoon today.  It is a beautiful place.  The photograph above is one obtained from the internet.  I took some myself, including of the Embassy itself, with its flag at half-mast, buttressed each side by the Eisenhower and Reagan statues, but due to technology problems have not been able to transfer them to this blog yet.  I will add them below, including a photograph of the US Ambassador’s message taken in the garden, when I can.

I first flew to Japan on 9/11 itself, learning of the heart-breaking events in the States whilst stopping off for lunch with my father in a pub at Boston Manor (which sounds far grander than it is, as Google will confirm) on the Piccadilly Line out to Heathrow Airport; it was the first and to date only time that I boarded an aircraft not being quite sure whether I would be getting off at the other end.

The garden is beautiful and typical of London’s wonderful parks and open spaces which I hope you will enjoy one day.

grosvenor-square-1

grosvenor-square-2

grosvenor-square-3

Grosvenor square, London,11 September 2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

