Japan landslides kill 32 in Hiroshima prefecture (BBC News)

One of those events that I always fear happening has happened.  Not an earthquake but a major landslide in my son’s city and, of course, I have no news about him; the reports indicate that a number of children have been killed as well as a large number of adults.  I cannot make out from the reports the exact area involved although it does seem from the photographs  to be a rural one (my son, as far as I know, still lives in the suburbs in Saeki-ku). This has all happened 3 months to the day before the third anniversary of my son’s abduction to Japan.  I hope the little boy is alright.

There is a BBC report here which (at the time of writing) states that 32 people have died and a Reuters report here which states that ‘at least 27’ have died.

I am going to contact the embassy in Tokyo now to try and get some more information.

4 thoughts on “Japan landslides kill 32 in Hiroshima prefecture (BBC News)

  1. Pingback: Hiroshima landslide: update | hugojapan

  2. Pingback: Hiroshima landslide: update (2) | hugojapan

  3. Pingback: End of Summer 2014 | hugojapan

  4. Pingback: Hiroshima landslide: update (6) | hugojapan

Leave a Reply

