October recollections

Hello Hugo

Dad’s first wife, Jean, died a year ago today (9th October 2012), exactly 1 month before what would have been her 85th birthday (9th November 2012). My siblings and I, from Dad’s second marriage, always got on well with her.  I always found her to be very straightforward and an easy to relate to person. She passed away just over a month before this blog was set up which is why I am only writing about it now.

For as long as I can remember she lived in the Totton district of Southampton in England. She died of cancer and was cared for in her final weeks by my half sister who lives in Brighton on the south coast of England.  Jean’s funeral was held at a Catholic church right opposite to Barbara’s house.  Dad did the eulogy (he gave me a copy afterwards – I must find it and post it here) and I was asked to do one of the Bible readings which I did.

Dad told me that he and Jean’s 50th wedding anniversary, had they stayed married and had she lived, would have been on 14 February 2013. They married 50 years ago at this Catholic church in London.

I met up with my brother and father in London yesterday, 8 October 2013.  We met for a late lunch at an Indian restaurant near King’s Cross. I don’t think that the three of us have met up alone since the early to mid 1990s.  It was a nice and very overdue get-together.  I am sure that you would have liked the food:  I always remember that the first English word that I heard you utter was ‘spicy’.  According to my mother my first words were ‘order order’, copying the Speaker of the House of Commons (at that time, back in the 1970s, parliamentary proceedings were not televised but were featured extensively on radio which is how I picked the phrase up).  I found out that yesterday, the day we met, would have been my father’s brother’s 90th birthday and, 4 days before that, my father’s father’s 115th birthday – were they still alive.

Leave a Reply

