Your great-grandfather

Hello Hugo

You are exactly 4 1/2 years old today.  In other words, you are actually 1/4 of the way to being an adult.  You were born exactly 6 months to the day after your maternal great grandfather died on 28 May 2008), so you never got to meet him. At the time of his death, he was not aware that you were on your way into the world, a cause of sadness to me.

I make a point of going to his grave every year at around this time as I am the only family member who lives in London. His ashes are interred in his family grave at the Kensington Cemetery – which is actually in Hanwell in West London and not Kensington as the name would suggest.  He is buried with his brother – who died during World War II – and his parents.  His father died in the mid 1970s before I was born and his mother, my greatgrandmother – who I do remember, in the mid 1980s.

This year I joined my grandmother (so his widow) and aunt and uncle who all came up to London to have lunch and tend the grave.  We tidied up the grave and planted some bulbs and seeds with the hope of, in time, brightening it up. Beforehand, I joined them at a local restaurant for a glass of wine – as they were finishing lunch in nearby Ealing by the time I could get there from work – and then we took the bus to the cemetery where we spent over an hour.

Image

This photograph was taken at the grave by my uncle.  It shows my maternal aunt, your maternal great-grandmother and myself.

One thought on “Your great-grandfather

  1. Pingback: Update: Easter/early summer 2014 | hugojapan

Leave a Reply

