Margaret Thatcher

Hello Hugo

I am not sure whether you will have heard of the above named by the time you get to read this but she died today.  Mrs Thatcher was the UK’s Prime Minister from 1979 until 1990, spanning a significant part of my own childhood (1977 (born) to 1996 (went to university)).  I grew up with her premiership so her death serves to show my own age; she was greatly admired abroad, including even in Japan.  I remember spending part of my summer holidays in 1994, whilst awaiting my GCSE results, reading her memoirs; I guess that I was the only 16 year old in the UK who did that that summer.  I agreed with much of what she did to this country; others did not.  Her death reminded me that one of those who did not agree with her had the very same name as you, Hugo Young, a journalist with The Guardian newspaper who died about 10 years ago.  Just for the record, though, you were not named after him; it was a coincidence.  He wrote an acclaimed biography about Thatcher back in the late 1980s.

Update (11 May 2013):  some Thatcher trivia for you, Hugo, but related to you:

One thought on “Margaret Thatcher

  1. Pingback: News events – December 2013 | hugojapan

Leave a Reply

