About

This blog is for my son, Hugo Oliver Daisuke Young.  My name is Richard.  I am a British citizen and I work in the legal field in London, England.

Hugo was born at 7.01pm on Friday,  November 28th, 2008 at the Princes Royal University Hospital near Bromley, just outside London.  He was born at the same time, and had the same weight, as I was, almost exactly 31 years earlier.   His mother, Masako, a Japanese, and I married on Friday, July 19th, 2002 in Yokohama, Japan.  We had met in London in late 1999 and lived and worked in Japan between 2001 and 2002, as soon as I had finished my legal studies, before returning to the UK in the autumn of 2002.

On Sunday, November 20th, 2011, although I did not realise it at the time, Masako abducted Hugo from London’s Heathrow Airport Terminal 3 (ANA flight NH202) to Tokyo with an onward connection to Hiroshima.  I have not seen my son for a single moment since that date, despite having been to Japan for that purpose.  I do not know whether I will ever see him again, either as a child or as an adult.  I miss the happy, adorable and clever little boy every moment of every day.

The above is, obviously, just a short factual summary but I shall expand on it in due course once I get used to navigating around this blog.

This blog is being set up one year to the day after Hugo’s abduction primarily so that I can re-establish contact with, and then keep in touch with, my son.  A secondary objective is to raise awareness of the issue of international parental child abduction and provide what I hope might become a  useful resource in terms of the issue in the context of Japan, particularly by drawing on my knowledge of the law.

Tuesday, November 20th, 2012

London, England

Leave a Reply

